Bring Back Our Girls: The Power of ONE

lilysblackboard.org

lilysblackboard.org

What the heck is going on in Nigeria?

And more so, I’m just a middle class American mom…

enjoying a life of relative ease in this Western culture so hated by the Islamic group, Boko Haram… what influence can I possibly have?

(For a full story of the conflict in Nigeria, click here.)

The answer is: a lot.

I stumbled across this on Facebook, a movement supported by achurchforstarvingartists.wordpress.com. The blog urges readers to pick one name (of the incomplete list of released names) of one kidnapped girl in Nigeria and to pray fervently for both her and her family.

Well, I can do that.

I can remember the girl I’ve chosen– Liyatu Habitu– as I pray for my own kids. I can remember her family as I lift my own up in prayer.

Because prayer is power.

Because Scripture says God hears our cries and sees our tears.

Because I believe what the apostle Paul said– some things are only the result of prayer.

“Do for one what you wish you could do for everyone.”

Because even when I can’t see the Big Picture, I remember that I serve the God who is, who was, and who is to come. His heart grieves with the heart of every Nigerian girl ripped from safety and familiarity because He doesn’t love them any less than He loves me. And He is reaching out for them in this broken, evil-filled world.

I can’t do much for a remote crisis far across the globe that just happened to gain international attention.

But I can pray.

I can pray for a miracle for Liyatu, that she’ll make it home one day and that for now at least, she’ll find a moment of relief or peace. And I pray for her family, that they’ll find peace eventually, without losing hope of their daughter’s return.

One individual committed to praying for one little girl can make a difference. God willing, it could be the difference between life and death, between being a slave or being free. Between being broken or being healed.

I’m just one, but prayer has power.

“Do for one what you wish you could do for everyone.”

 

Luke 12:48
When someone has been given much, much will be required in return; and when someone has been entrusted with much, even more will be required.

Leave a Reply

