The Care Package Is On Its Way

 

This morning I found myself in an interesting predicament during my drive to work.

Stopped at a red light, smack dab in the middle of a busy school zone don’t you know, I heard something on the radio that grabbed my attention so abruptly and with such raw honesty that a torrent of tears unlocked from some recess hidden deep within me. There I was one minute waiting nonchalantly for traffic to begin moving again, and the next thing I knew, I was swiping at my cheeks, trying fiercely to salvage the fresh mascara. There’s no telling what the poor high school kid stopped next to me at the light thought. I was caught up in this story playing over the air waves, and I hadn’t realized until that moment how desperately I needed to hear those particular words.

The message was clear: Remember that God often begins filling your needs long before you even know you have them.

A gentleman called into the Christian radio station I was listening to, and I would have immediately turned the channel had my hands not been preoccupied turning the corner. While I love the focus and encouragement I feel on my way to work listening to Christian-oriented stations, I find the banter between radio personalities hokey and the call-in stories feel too rehearsed. I hate the talk; I love the music. This morning though, I was grateful for the talk. The part of the story I clued into was a gentleman explaining how his son is in the military and currently stationed in Afghanistan. Apparently this soldier is well-known among his colleagues for being a Christian and a man who takes prayer seriously.

Recently, there was some kind of mix-up with the meal packs while the soldier’s troop was on a mission and he was forced to go two days without food. He reports that he prayed and asked for something to eat… crackers, anything. He showed trust that the Lord hadn’t brought him that far to let him starve in the middle of the desert. That same night, he received a care package from his church back home. In it was nothing but food! God answered his prayer right when he needed it, and he got to share his snacks with the other people in his company as they witnessed his miracle too.

care-package-for-solider

Here’s the kicker though: his church had mailed that care package two months before it arrived in his hands. Two months! Two months before he even felt the slightest pang of hunger, God was already at work pulling the pieces together to meet his need.

And that’s the part of the story that gripped me.

And I tried to act as normal as possible at the stoplight, screaming in my head for the green light that would move the cars around me again so I could react without disturbing those cute kids next to me, waiting to pull into their high school parking lot. “Dude! Did you see that lady? I think she was losing it.” Oh the stories people could tell if they watched me in my car!

My husband and I are in a peculiar, and admittedly trying, season of life. Many changes are coming around the corner. Some welcome, some our choosing. Some not. It sure is easy to feel scared and doubtful in times like this.

I am reminded that God is faithful. Surely He didn’t bring us to the middle of the desert just to have us starve to death, literally or metaphorically. We do live in West Texas after all… for now, anyway… . He knew exactly what we would be facing. He knew long ago what we would need now. He began fitting pieces together for us, for this time, long ago. I can’t necessarily see the whole picture at this time, but He can. And I am able to stand on His truth: that He has proven faithful in the past, so I know He will be faithful now.

Lord, I trust you.

The care package is on its way.

One thought on “The Care Package Is On Its Way

  1. I ugly cry in my car all the time. I’ve accepted that it’s going to keep happening. 🙂
    Love reading along here so much. Praying for you guys.

Leave a Reply

